Celebrating the Inaugural Early-Career Research Fellows

BrightSpark Foundation held an Award Ceremony on the 16 November to celebrate the four awardees of a 2023 WA Early-Career Child Health Researcher Fellowship. The event was hosted by the Foundation’s sponsors at the Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club.

Four WA-based early-career researchers were each awarded a three-year Fellowship that will support them to develop their independent research skills and capabilities. The Fellowship provides funding support for salary and direct research costs.

Applications were reviewed by six representatives from WA’s premier child health research organisations who were nominated to independently review each application for its scientific quality and relevance to child health research for children in WA.

Three of the new Fellows were present at the event and were presented awards by the Foundation’s patron, Professor Lyn Beazley AO.

L-R Professor Lyn Beazley AO, Dr Brittany Dewdney, Dr Samantha Carlson and Dr Hannah Thomas, not present is Ms Denby Evans.

The Fellowship Program is co-sponsored with the Western Australian Future Health Research and Innovation (FHRI) Fund. The Minister for Medical Research, Hon Stephen Dawson, announced the outcomes on 31 October 2023.

The Fellows will commence their independent research projects in early 2024 at the Telethon Kids Institute.

Scroll to Top